## RAMAIAH COLLEGE OF LAW THE LITERARY AND DEBATING SOCIETY ANNUAL REPORT

(August 2017 – April 2018)

## RAMAIAH INTER VARSITY DEBATING TOURNAMENT, 2017

The second edition of Ramaiah College of Law's debating tournament saw much of the momentum gained in the first edition carried over to this year, the result of which was a tournament that saw intense debating from over 36 teams hailing from colleges across the country and spanning all courses, from engineering to law. The tournament which follows the British parliamentary format of debating was conducted from the  $27^{th}$  to  $29^{th}$  of October 2017.

The Core adjudicators for the tournament included:

- 1. Vinodhan Kuppusamy An exceptionally gifted debater, hailing from the University of Malaya, is carrying with him a host of debating achievements, not only as an adjudicator, but also a speaker, the biggest of which was representing his institution in the ESL finals of the Worlds Universities Debating Championship 2017 which was held in the Netherlands.
- 2. Trishal Kumar A graduate of PESIT, also known for establishing its debating society and nurturing it its current status, Trishal now studies public policy at NLSIU. Being one of most widely known debaters in the Indian circuit, Trishal bought an air of experience and skill to the tournament by setting up interesting motions and giving deep and insightful feedback.
- 3. Manav Garg An alumnus of the prestigious Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, Manav graciously accepted to be on our core adjudicator team despite his busy schedule and by doing so bought to the tournament his invaluable expertise, not only in terms of debating, but also organization. He has been a core adjudicator at a plethora of tournaments, making him a perfect addition to Ramaiah IV 2017
- 4. Manasa Aluru A recent graduate of RVCE, Bangalore, Manasa is also the winner of India's largest Debating tournament, the NLSD 2017. Apart from this, she has represented her country in many international debating tournaments and won many accolades, not only as a speaker but also as an adjudicator.

- 5. Shreya Menon Shreya, despite only being a 3<sup>rd</sup> year student of the Sri Ram College of Commerce, Delhi, has shown incredible debating prowess and has already broken at international tournaments and featured in many top 10 speaker lists across the country. Apart from this she has debated in many final and amassed quite a reputation in the Delhi debating circuit that is quickly spreading to the rest of the country as well.
- 6. Souradip Sen One of India's most well-known debaters, also happens to be one of India's most celebrated debaters, with breaks in the prestigious WUDC as a speaker as well as an adjudicator. To say that this is only the tip of the ice berg, would be an understatement. Despite being unable to attend the tournament in person, he contributed to it largely by setting up deep and thought provoking motions.

The motions debated in the tournament ranged from Queer Coding, International relations, sports to Banking, LGBT rights and Due process.

The Winners of the Ramaiah IV 2017 were the team from Jindal Global Law School, consisting of Sudarshan Srikanth and Abhishek Navatia. The other finalist teams were:

- 1. NLS A Osho Chhel and Siddharth Aatreya
- 2. NLS B Amandeep Borathakur and Suranjan Shukla
- 3. VIT Shekhar Nair and Milind Agarwal



The winners and the other finalist teams received a cash prize of Rs. 20,000/- and Rs. 4,000/- each respectively.



Mr. Harshavardan R. and Mr. Goutham Bhaskar Surapinni, Jindal Global Law School were the Novice Winners. Mr. Dhanush Dinesh, NLSIU and Mr. Abhishek Navatia, Jindal Global Law School was declared as Best Adjudicator and Best Speaker, respectively. The Novice Winners and the other awardees received a cash prize of Rs. 4,000/- each.

## STUDENTS ACHIEVEMENTS AND REPRESENTATIONS

COMPETITION NAME	PARTICIPANTS	ACHIEVEMENTS		
PES Debating Competition	Sakshi Singhal	Aishwarya V.R - Semi-		
26-28 August 2017	Aishwarya M.R.	finalist Adjudicator		
	Amitha Prasad			
	Pratik Dawda			
	Krish Kalro			
	Manya Khanna			
	Tushar Mallik			
	Greeshma Venkateshan			
	Keertana Swamynathan			
	Aishwarya V.R.  Saniary Symaals			
BV Debeting Tournement	<ul><li>Sanjay Suresh</li><li>Sathvik Amarnath</li></ul>	Varun Nair and Anagha		
RV Debating Tournament				
2-3 September 2017	<ul><li>Sakshi Singhal</li><li>Varun Nair</li></ul>	Nadig broke to Novice		
	Anagha Nadig	Finals		
	Shreya Kar			
	<ul> <li>Doyita Mukharjee</li> </ul>			
	Sanjeevini Navadgi			
	Omkar Prasad			
	Keertana Swamynathan			
	Nikhil Asrani			
MRSMPD	Sathvik Amarnath	Sathvik Amarnath and		
9-11 September 2017	Sakshi Singhal	Sakshi Singhal broke to		
y or a promote and	Ashika Gurumath			
	Keertana Swamynathan	Open Quarter Finals		
	• Nidhe			
	Nidhi Sharma			
	• Rashi			
	• Ishitha			
	• Abhipsa			
	Aashma     Hamalaidha			
	Harshitha     Donbro			
	<ul><li>Daphne</li><li>Greeshma Viji</li></ul>			
NALSAR Inter Varsity	Sathvik Amarnath	Participation		
	Sakshi Singhal			
Debating Tournament	Anisha Pavan			
15-17 September 2017	Shubham N.M			
	Krish Kalro			
	Varun Nair			

IIT Bombay Parliamentary Debate 22-24 September 2017  Jindal Parliamentary Debate 15 – 17 October 2017  1st Tamil Nadu National Law School Inter-Varsity	<ul> <li>Anagha Nadig</li> <li>Pratik Dawda</li> <li>Sheryl Fathima</li> <li>Sanjeevini Navadgi</li> <li>Greeshma Venkateshan</li> <li>Sanjay Suresh</li> <li>Sathvik Amarnath</li> <li>Abhinay S.</li> <li>Sanjeevini Navadgi</li> <li>Sheryl Fathima</li> <li>Aishwarya M.R.</li> <li>Sanjay Suresh</li> <li>Manya Khanna</li> <li>Amitha Prasad</li> <li>Vaishak Datta</li> <li>Aishwarya M.R.</li> <li>Shreya Kar</li> <li>Ashika Gurumath</li> <li>Tanish Rao</li> <li>Nikhil Asrani</li> <li>Ram (Adjudicator)</li> </ul>	Vaishak Datta – Semi Finals Adjudicator Aishwarya M.R. – Quarter Finals Adjudicator
Parliamentary Debate 2018 9 - 11 February 2018  Debate Competition, KSLU Zonal Youth Festival 16 - 17 February 2018	<ul><li> Pratik Dawda</li><li> Tanish</li></ul>	
Elocution, KSLU Zonal Youth Festival 16 - 17 February 2018 JSS Law College State	Sathvik Amarnath  • Krish Kalro	Second Prize
Level Debate Competition on "Social Media-Is it the Root Cause for Corrupting Young Minds?" 17 February 2018	Aashika	
The NUALS Parliamentary  Debate 2018	<ul><li>Amitha Prasad</li><li>Tanish</li><li>Pratik Dawda</li></ul>	• Sathvik Amarnath and Sakshi Singhal - Winners

Christ University Parliamentary Debate 2018 24 - 26 February 2018  The 5 <sup>th</sup> Annual VIT Debating Tournament 2018 17 - 18 March 2018	<ul> <li>Nikhil Asrani</li> <li>Sathvik Amarnath</li> <li>Ram (Adjudicator)</li> <li>Vaishakh G Datta</li> <li>Sakshi Singhal</li> <li>Nidhe</li> <li>Rubina</li> <li>Shreya Kar</li> <li>Aishwarya MR</li> <li>Sheryl</li> <li>Sanjeevini</li> <li>Sathvik Amarnath</li> <li>Omkar Prasad</li> <li>Sakshi Singhal</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Sakshi Singhal - Best Speaker</li> <li>Vaishakh G Datta - Semi-finalist</li> </ul>
Visvewarapura College of Law State Level Inter- College English/Kannada Debate Competition 23 March 2018	<ul><li>Sathvik Amarnath</li><li>Omkar Prasad</li><li>H.S. Karthik Gowda</li><li>Tejas</li></ul>	Second Best Speaker